Six states receive federal funds for EHR incentives program

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services awarded American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funds to six state Medicaid programs for planning activities to implement an electronic health record incentive program. The states include Colorado, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming.

The Recovery Act provides a 90 percent federal match for state planning activities to administer the incentive payments to Medicaid providers, to ensure their proper payments through audits and to participate in statewide efforts to promote interoperability and meaningful use of EHR technology statewide and, eventually, across the nation.

(Sources: AHA News Now, , March 25, 2010; The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services,, March 24, 2010)