Premier recognizes 23 U.S. hospitals for care quality, operational efficiency

Premier health care alliance has announced the 23 winners of its annual Award for Quality, which recognizes hospitals’ commitment to outstanding patient care and operational efficiency.

The AFQ recognizes leading healthcare organizations that efficiently provide outstanding patient care and consistently set the standard in clinical excellence nationwide. Distinguished by its consideration of performance-based criteria, including clinical quality outcomes, resource utilization, and clinical process indicators, the AFQ measures top performers at the overall hospital level.

All acute care inpatient facilities in the United States that submitted data to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the CMS Hospital Compare project were considered for the AFQ. Using MedPar 2007 data, Quality and Efficiency Indexes were calculated for 62 disease groups and at the overall hospital level. Quality was measured by the incidence of three adverse outcomes: mortality, morbidity and complications, which are combined into a single Quality Index using the preference weightings from the Corporate Hospital Rating Project. The efficiency index was generated using length of stay to proxy for resource utilization.

Acute care facilities attaining the top 1 percent designation are identified as having scores in the top two quintiles for process of care and in 10 out of 62 disease groups and at the overall hospital level for quality and efficiency. Additionally, hospitals had measures for quality and efficiency that were equal to or exceeded expected outcomes.

2009 Award for Quality winners are:

• SSM DePaul Health Center – Bridgeton, Mo.

• St. Elizabeth Health Center – Youngstown, Ohio

• Hoag Memorial Hospital – Newport Beach, Calif.

• Memorial Regional Hospital – Hollywood, Fla.

• Winchester Hospital – Winchester, Mass.

• Hackensack University Medical Center – Hackensack, N.J.

• Good Samaritan Hospital – Cincinnati

• Saint Vincent Health Center – Erie, Pa.

• Albert Einstein Medical Center – Philadelphia

• Allegiance Health – Jackson, Mich.

• Mercy General Hospital – Sacramento, Calif.

• Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center – Boston

• Sound Shore Medical Center of Westchester – New Rochelle, N.Y.

• Joint Township District Memorial Hospital – Saint Marys, Ohio

• St. Vincent Charity Hospital – Cleveland

• Lakewood Hospital – Lakewood, Ohio

• The Western Pennsylvania Hospital – Pittsburgh

• Memorial Hospital – Colorado Springs, Colo.

• Penrose/St. Francis Healthcare – Colorado Springs, Colo.

• Rush University Medical Center – Chicago

• Paoli Memorial Hospital – Paoli, Pa.

• Medical University of South Carolina – Charleston, S.C.

• Maury Regional Hospital – Columbia, Tenn.

Additional information about the AFQ and related methodology can be found at the Premier site.

(SOURCE: Advisory Board Daily Briefing,, June 22, 2009)