CMS pilots program to prevent readmissions

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) today announced the 14 communities around the nation that have been chosen for the Agency’s Care Transitions Project, seeking to eliminate unnecessary hospital readmissions.


The goal of the Care Transitions Project is to improve health care processes so that patients, their caregivers, and their entire team of providers have what they need to keep patients from returning to the hospital for ongoing care needs. By promoting seamless transitions from the hospital to home, skilled nursing care, or home health care, this community-wide approach seeks, not only to reduce hospital readmissions but to yield sustainable and replicable strategies that achieve high-value health care for Medicare beneficiaries.


Communities in the following regions have been selected to participate in the Project: Providence, R.I.; Upper Capitol Region, N.Y.; Western Pennsylvania; Southwestern New Jersey; Metro Atlanta East, Ga.; Miami.; Tuscaloosa, Ala.; Evansville, Ind.; Greater Lansing Area, Mich.; Omaha, Neb.; Baton Rouge, La.; North West Denver, Colo.; Harlingen, Texas; and Whatcom County, Wash. The work of the Care Transitions Project will respond to the unique needs of each of the 14 communities.


Each of the Care Transitions communities is led by a state Quality Improvement Organization (QIO). Each QIO in the project is required to work with partners to implement the following:

a) hospital and community system-wide interventions;

b) interventions that target specific diseases or conditions; and

c) interventions that target specific reasons for admission.


CMS will monitor the success of this project by watching the rates at which patients in these communities return to the hospital. Re-admission rates for hospitals have been tracked by CMS for some time, and will be available to consumers later this year through the Hospital Compare Web site at


Click here for the press release.



(SOURCE: HCPro Accreditation Connection,, April 20, 2009)