Joint Commission announces Codman Award winners

The Joint Commission yesterday named the 2008 recipients of the Ernest Amory Codman Award, which recognizes excellence in the use of outcomes measurement to improve health care quality and safety.


The winners are Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte, NC; Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center; Mission Hospital in Mission Viejo, CA; Novant Health in Winston-Salem, NC; and the late Shukri Khuri, M.D., who oversaw the National Surgical Quality Improvement Program in the Department of Veterans Affairs. For more on the award recipients and their achievements, see the news release..


Established in 1996, the award is named for the physician regarded in health care as the “father of outcomes measurement,” and is the first national award to recognize excellence in outcomes measurement. The Joint Commission also recognizes an individual who has played a significant leadership role in promoting the use of performance measures to improve health care services, or who has made major contributions to the development and testing of performance measures or the science and art of quality improvement. A panel of national experts in quality measurement and improvement selected the five recipients of the 2008 Awards.


(SOURCES: AHA News Now,, November 13, 2008; The Joint Commission,, November 13, 2008)